Devon Cups and Trophies

Latest News

Updated date: 15th May 2022
Updated date: 19th March 2020
Updated date: 17th February 2019
Updated date: 21st October 2018
Updated date: 9th January 2018

   More News...

Events / Competitions

There are several competitions shot at county or intercounty level other than the usual postal leagues.

Kerslake Trophy

The Kerslake Trophy was purchased by Devon and Cornwall and the inaugural shoot was held at the Kerslake Range, Lee Mill, Devon. Bill Kerslake was Secretary of Plymouth & District League for many years and also served on the County Committee. Bill was very much respected by both counties thus the joint purchase of the Trophy. The match is shot as a English Match (Three cards at 50m, 20 shots per card. The teams are made up of 10 from each County.
When the Lee Mill Range closed the shoot was transferred to the Devon County Range at Budleigh Farm. Following consultation with Cornwall it was  shot alternately in Devon and Cornwall, for a few years. Last year, 2015, it was not competed for and then the two Counties agreed to shoot in again solely in Devon each Year, with the stipulation that it is shot on one of the Plymouth and District Shoots thus keeping continuity with Bill Kerslake and Plymouth.

Kynoch Competition

This is an inter county shoot between Devon and Cornwall shot in a head to head final over 25yds with a team of six. Prior to the final, each county holds a knockout competition within its clubs and each counties winner team represents the county.

Henry Dart Competition

The Henry Dart is an internal county postal competition open to all prone rifle shooters in Devon with Winter League handicaps of less than 92.00 shot over five rounds at 25yds.

The Wincanton Garages Long Range Challenge Cup

The Wincanton Cup.(the Cup having been presented by Wincanton Garages) was instigated by Cornwall in 1985. It takes the form of a Scottish Match , three cards at 100 yards, 20 shots per card. The Shoot has always been held in Cornwall.   Initially it was open to all South West Counties, but gradually the other Counties did not compete and it was then became an annual match between Devon and Cornwall. In the early stages it was a team of 10 from each county but sadly it has now dwindled to a team of 6 from each County. The last two shoots have been held at the Cornwall County Range at Garker which is near St Austell.
The winners of the Cup are as follows:-
1985 Somerset
1986 & 1987 Devon
1988 & 1989 Cornwall
1989 to 1996 Devon
1997 Cornwall
1998 to 2000 Devon
2001 & 2002 Cornwall
2003 to 2005 Devon
2006 to 2008 Cornwall
2009 Devon
2010 & 2011Cornwall
2012 Devon
2013 Cornwall
2014 Devon
2015 Cornwall
2016 Devon

Astor Cup Competition

This is a Devon inter club competition shot over a single Dewer round ( 20 shots at 50m and 20 shoots at 100yds. The team consists of six members. The winning club team then go onto represent Devon in the Astor County Cup which is shot at the Bisley Championship meeting in August.

Queen Alexandra Cup

Queen Alexandra, consort of the reigning monarch, Edward VII, presented the magnificent sterling silver trophy to the Society of Miniature Rifle Clubs in 1907 to encourage the relatively new sport of smallbore rifle target shooting.

Originally an individual competition but now also for teams of six, the QA course of fire is two 10 bull cards, each one shot ‘deliberately', each with a 10 minute time limit. These are followed by two 10 bull cards shot ‘rapidly’ with only 90 seconds allowed for each. The course of fire is completed with a skirmisher target: 60 seconds to shoot as many shots as possible at 8 oval ’blobs’, each about the size of a quail’s egg, firing a maximum of 2 shots into each blob before adding a third (if time permits!).

The top 8 County teams qualify for the finals at Bisley. All club teams are eligible to enter the QA team competition, whether their team members are in a county team or not. Budding team members can gain valuable practice through the Surrey Individual Winter Time Limit League (10 rounds of 2 cards) or the Middlesex Winter and Hertfordshire Winter and Summer time limit team leagues (teams of three, 10 rounds of 1 rapid and 1 skirmisher card).