Devon County Smallbore Rifle Association South West Rifle, LSR and Pistol Championships

Latest News

Updated date: 19th March 2020
Updated date: 17th February 2019
Updated date: 21st October 2018
Updated date: 9th January 2018
Updated date: 21st October 2017

   More News...

Events / Competitions

Over the weekend of the 4th and 5th September 2016 we held the South West Open Rifle Meeting.

This included two bench- rest competitions, comprising a Double Dewar on the Saturday and an English match on the Sunday.

On the Sunday we ran a Junior Inter-county match between Devon & Cornwall concurrent with this was the Chris Burrow trophy shoot for teams of three which was held on the 50 metre South range. It was a great shoot with Cornwall wining the Powderham Cup, a Junior County Team of 4. Alongside this they shot for the Chris Burrow trophy, Junior County Teams of 3. The top individual Juniors were George Wisker of Fonthill who won the best score for under 21's and Ben Squire of Manaton who won the under 18's.

Alongside the Junior Match Eley was also conducting batch testing for visiting shooters, and they sponsored the juniors by giving them 100 rounds of Edge each. This was a fine gesture as we try to get our juniors involved as much as possible.

Concurrent with the main Competition on the North Range we held the annual Civil Service versus Devon team shoot, this year won by Devon, with Devon's Pete Hobbs being top shot. In the main competition the Open Prone was won by Hannah Pugsley with Budleigh Farm’s Pete Hobbs the SW Open Prone. The Open Ladies was won by Hannah Pugsley with TVR's Debbie Mackie winning the South West Ladies Trophy.

At the end of the weekend's shooting we held an Olympic type shoot off from the top 10% from each class. Each competitor has 30sec to shoot each shot, after which the shot is then scored by spotters sitting behind. Each shot is recorded on the score board for all to see. Each shot which scores 10 is cheered by those watching, and then each competitor fires 10 shots in total. The competitor with the best score this year was Ann Travis, Bideford who had a perfect score. This competition was introduced to allow the people compile the main results in time for the prize giving.

Over the weekend of the 10th and 11th we held the South West LSR and Pistol competition.

This went well with over 50 shooting in 10 different disciplines which covered Air pistol, LSR and Black powder. These are shot at 25m and 50m, and turning targets. Below is a list of Winners.

Comp 1 Free pistol Nijel Dudley

Comp2 Air agg Maras Burnicki Pinhoe

Comp 3 Air sport Nijel Dudley fonthill

Comp 4 10m Air pistol Maras Burnicki Pinhoe

Comp 5 Muzzel loader Steve Bamford Paignton

Comp 6 LSR Agg Phil Gillbanks Yealmpton

Comp 7 LSR Sport Peter Mc Gregor Fonthill

Comp 8 Centre Fire Sport Rob Allen Ilminster

Comp 9 LSR Team - Agg of 25m & 50m Tiverton A

Comp 9A LSR Sport Team Tiverton A

Comp 9 B LSR Team Agg & Sport Tiverton A

Comp 10 Air Pistol Team Agg 20yd & 25m Okehampton A

Comp 10 A Sport team Bideford A

Comp 10B Team Sport & Agg Okehampton A

Comp 11 .22 Lap Robert.Beard Fonthill

Comp 12 Centerfire Precision Colin. Reeves Paignton

Comp 13 Malcolm Park Taunton

Alongside the main competition we held a junior LSR competition for the Chris Burrow trophy, l juniors under 21 course of fire, 30 shots at 25m - Winner Harley Gilbert-Harris from Penzance with 282 out of 300: 2nd Reece Ellemore also from Penzance with 275 out of 300